Jefferson County Traffic Safety Commission

Jefferson County Highway Department Committee Room 1425 Wisconsin Drive Jefferson, WI 53549

Meeting Agenda

July 21, 2022 1:00 P.M.

Join Zoom Meeting https://zoom.us/j/97240897949?pwd=d2xnN0dlcmRYNmVJOUM4Q2JmV1g0UT09

Meeting ID: 972 4089 7949
Passcode: 057048
One tap mobile
+13126266799,,97240897949# US (Chicago)

Dial by your location +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago) Meeting ID: 972 4089 7949

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/abY4zp3hZh

Committee Members: Delzer – Chair, Schmid, Milbrath, Kern, Cooper, Chilsen, Kinderman, Martin, Udovich, Ward, Wiessinger

- 1) Call meeting to Order
- 2) Roll Call
- 3) Certification of compliance with the Open Meetings Law
- 4) Review of the Agenda
- 5) Approval of the April 21, 2022 meeting minutes
- 6) Communications
- 7) Public Comment (Members of the public who wish to address the Committee on specific agenda items must register their request at this time)
- 8) Old Business
 - a. None
- 9) New Business
 - a. Discuss general guidelines for the Traffic Safety Commission
- 10) Traffic Accident Spot Map Jefferson County Sheriff's Department
- 11) WisDOT Southwest Region, Madison Traffic Section
- 12) WisDOT-Bureau of Transportation Safety Transportation Safety Report & Highway Safety Input
- 13) Wisconsin State Patrol Report
- 14) Village/City Police Department- Reports
- 15) Date of next meeting (1:00 pm October 20, 2022)
- 16) Adjourn

A quorum of any Jefferson County Committee, Board, Commission or other body, including the Jefferson County Board of Supervisors, may be present at this meeting.

Individuals requiring special accommodations for attendance at the meeting should contact the County Administrator at 920-674-7101 24 hours prior to the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.

JEFFERSON COUNTY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, April 21, 2022

The Jefferson County Traffic Safety Commission met on Thursday, April 21, 2022, at 1:00 P.M. for a meeting at the Jefferson County Highway Office.

ROLL OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE:

Members present: Kern, Delzer, Milbrath, Kinderman, Pileggi, Schmid (Zoom)

Members absent: Cooper

Also Present: Brian Udovich, Highway Department

Ryan Broedlow, Highway Department Ann Jenswold, Highway Department Randy Wiessinger, WisDOT/BOTS

Alan Witte, Lake Mills Police Department

Dave Brower, Watertown Police Department (Zoom)

Anita Martin (Zoom)

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION MINUTES: The minutes from the January 20, 2022, Jefferson County Traffic Safety Commission meeting, having been distributed in advance, it was moved by Kern and seconded by Pileggi to approve the minutes as printed. Motion Carried.

CORRESPONDENCE:

NONE

PUBLIC COMMENT:

NONE

OLD BUSINESS

8a. Discuss US 12 Speed Zone (Fort Atkinson)

Charlene Schmid, WisDOT reported that the study conducted shows the step-down speed zones are not working, the traveling speeds are greater than what is posted. Her recommendation is to use speed boards to make the traveling public more aware, or more patrol in the area. No Motion

NEW BUSINESS

9a. Discuss any new updates on ATV/UTV highway use

The committee discussed the use of ATV/UTV use on highways. Currently no real issues to discuss. No Motion

10. Traffic Accident Spot Map – Jefferson County Sheriff's Department

The Spot Map was reviewed by the Committee. No Motion

11. WisDOT Southwest Region, Madison - Traffic Section (Charlene Schmid) No Updates

12. WisDOT Bureau of Transportation Safety – Transportation Safety Report & Highway Safety Input

Wiessinger discussed the month of May is "Click it or Ticket" month. Speed awareness day is July 27 for the Great Lakes area. No Motion

13. Wisconsin State Patrol (Kevin Kinderman)

Kinderman stated the State Patrol is doing speed enforcement details for high visibility. They are looking to change driver behavior and currently working alongside the Sheriff Department. No Motion

14. Village/City Police Department-Reports

No Updates

The next Traffic Safety Commission meeting is set for Thursday, July 21, 2022 at the Jefferson County Highway Department, at 1:00 P.M.

Motion by Kern and seconded by Pileggi to adjourn at 2:00 p.m. Carried unanimously